top of page

Winter Wear Designs - Tidewater Tee

I love, love, love this shirt! I love, love, LOVE the Tidewater Tee pattern from Winter Wear Designs that allows me to make it! I was a little late to sign up as a tester, so my size was covered. No worries, I have a teen that is in constant need of clothes. This design is suited for teens and adults. I'm so glad my teen is fitting into small adult sizes. There's a huge gap in the PDF sewing pattern world for tweens and teens. Have no fear, I'll make one for myself very soon.

Look at the options on this semi-fitted knit top - cold-shoulder, sweet tulip sleeves, and regular sleeves with two different neck options. I would have liked to have seen a v-neck option, but I should be able to make that modification with ease. I opted for the cold-shoulder. It's a popular request of my younger girls. I hadn't made one until this pattern testing opportunity. I thought "what a great time to explore how this is done!"

The pattern covers a wide range of sizes, 00-24. My teen measured for a size 2. I did not have to do any grading or modifications for her. However, when it comes time to do mine, I will have to grade between sizes to get the best fit for me. No worries! Suzanne explains how to grade between sizes. Oh! The glory of being able to sew for ourselves. We can achieve the best fit for our body shapes.

The Tidewater Tee is designed to be made of knit with at least 30% stretch. The tee has a yoke that lends itself to sport a complimentary fabric. The sleeves can be cut from the main fabric or the yoke fabric. The yoke can be done with any fabric as long as it has at least 30% stretch. Check out the other tester's photos in the pattern listing to see stretch lace, stretch leather, and many examples of using multiple fabrics.

TidewaterTeeFront

I had in my head that this was going to consume some time. Probably because I had never sewn a cold-shoulder style top before. It went together very fast! I'm pretty sure I spent more time looking for fabric to suit my picky girl than I did sewing. Lucky for me, I found this super cute anchor print that I bought 3 years ago to make a pj set for her. I love it as a nice shirt better. I bought the fabric from The Fabric Fairy. I love shopping here because I can request assistance on finding fabrics that match or coordinate. I've never been disappointed by the suggestions. Megan is also very upfront to tell you if it's a perfect color match or if it's off a little bit. She's very easy to work with. Customer Service is top-notch!

I've not yet mentioned a fabulous key feature. The back! It has a cut-out that gives the shirt an added summer flair. When I make mine, I'm going to embroider the yoke. It'll probably be a decorative swirl to jazz up an otherwise plain fabric. But you could do a monogram or name. It'll look amazing!

TidewaterTeeBack

The cut-out is big enough to add interest but not so big that it cause bra straps to show. Wont this look amazing with added embroidery?

You can get the Tidewater Tee from Winter Wear Deisgns at introductory pricing through the weekend (June 25, 2017). No code necessary to receive the discounted price.

Remember, I make custom items. If you don't sew, or don't have time to sew, feel free to contact me about a custom shirt, just for you.

bottom of page