top of page

Fine Finishings - Beautiful on the Outside

The difference is in the details! I talk about my handmade items being serged and topstitched. You may be wondering "what does that mean?"

Here is an explanation of topstitching. It is stitches done close to a seam or edge, deliberately visible.

Sometimes I may use a blending color of thread (as in these pictures) or I may use a contrasting color. It depends on the item and the desired look.

What is the purpose? Well, there are a couple of reasons why I do this.

One is that it creates clean detailing to the item.

Second is that when it's done where there are ruffles or where a skirt meets with a bodice, it helps the fabric lay better. Not only lay better, but it minimizes ironing after washing, like on a sash. It keeps the sash from twisting out of shape.

bottom of page